My Love/Hate Relationship With My OBGYN

Ok, so hate is a strong word. I don’t hate my OBGYN; I don’t even really dislike her. I just hate what she said.

A couple of weeks ago, I had my yearly check up with her. As soon as I walked into the office, I became super emotional. And I have no idea why. I have really, truly, seriously been fine with not being pregnant the last few months. I have not been bitter or upset. I have not cried at a pregnancy announcement on Facebook. I have not mentally (or verbally, for that matter 🙂 ) scolded parents for taking their children for granted. I’ve really been in a good place. So I’m guessing it was the fact that I was surrounded by pregnant women and newborns. Or because when the nurse asked me if I had any issues, to which I said, “Well, besides not being able to get pregnant,” and just chuckled about it, she responded with, “Well bless your heart!”. Or it could have been because I waited 45 minutes to see the doctor, during which I could hear an ultrasound going on in the next room and I wondered if I would ever get to hear our baby’s heartbeat. I guess it was all just overwhelming.

When the doc came in, she sat down across from me and we just talked. I’m used to her just asking her questions and going through the exam and that’s that. But God knew I needed this. She asked how I was doing, and I just lost it. I told her I didn’t know why I was crying, and she said, “Because you want to have a baby! It’s ok!”. She asked why we stopped seeing the infertility doctor, and I told her about the last appointment and how I didn’t feel valued. I said I felt like things weren’t being explained to me thoroughly. She said Dr. Reshef is usually great about taking time with his patients, so this surprised her. She mentioned I have the option of seeing one other infertility doc, but he is known for not spending much time with his patients, so he wouldn’t be any better. She asked what I felt like wasn’t explained, and I said I guess just what our options were for finding out what the issue is. So she went over in detail every test and medicine we have tried, and made sure I understood what we’ve done so far. She asked what Dr. Reshef told me was next, and I said the fertility shots ending with IUI, but that I didn’t really understand what those were. She explained the Femara I took for a few cycles was the pill form of meds to help me ovulate more, and that the shots are the same thing, just more effective. I asked about endometriosis and told her Dr. Reshef said the only way to check for that was to have the laparoscopic surgery. She agreed, and said I really don’t have any symptoms of endometriosis, so she acted like she didn’t think I needed to have the surgery.

After discussing everything, she said, “So, the reason Dr. Reshef didn’t explain everything is because there is nothing to explain. Unfortunately, you fall into the 15% of couples that have unexplained infertility.”

Knife to the heart.

It was heartbreaking to hear that said out loud. No one has said it to us before, although we’ve suspected there was nothing wrong. All I could think was why? Why is this happening? I know God has a plan and I am trusting in that now more than ever, but why does it have to be an unexplained issue? I thought, I would almost rather have something wrong with us so we would know what needed to be fixed! But then thought I would probably be more distraught if we had issues and found out they weren’t fixable.

My OBGYN said since we don’t have any medical problems, that we are good candidates for IVF, which she suggested as our next step. She talked about how this is a big step and we need to mentally prepare ourselves for it, but she believes it would work. I said we weren’t ready for that yet, and she was very understanding. She just said that when we are, we need to schedule an appointment with Dr. Reshef and not to leave his office until everything is explained to us.

I left her office feeling better, but at the same time more upset. I loved that she sat down and just talked with me for several minutes about our infertility. I enjoyed talking to someone that understands our options and can tell me the truth about our situation. But it was upsetting to hear our infertility is unexplainable, at least for doctors. God has an explanation; I just I wish I knew what it was. But we don’t get to know everything about God’s plan. We just have to trust Him and believe that His plan is going to rock our world.

That night, Jim and I discussed what my OBGYN said and what we want to do from here. It’s nice to know she thinks we would be good candidates for IVF, but I don’t think we are ready to take that step yet. For me, I think fear is holding me back. I’m afraid that we will try this and spend all this money on it, and then it won’t work. That would be our last option, so then what? We just aren’t meant to have kids? Or should we keep trying more rounds of IVF? I think I’ve just got it stuck in my mind that if it didn’t work, that would be it. Of course we would adopt at that point, but I want to have a baby of our own. I want to experience pregnancy and all the wonderful and terrible things that come with it. I know without a doubt I am meant to be a mom, but that doesn’t mean I’m meant to be a mom to my own flesh and blood child. That might not be in God’s plan, and I guess I’m just afraid that the sooner we try IVF, and if it doesn’t work, the sooner my dreams will be crushed. I realize this all sounds very pessimistic. I try to remind myself to stay positive about it and not let the Enemy put these doubts and fears in my head, but sometimes it is difficult.

The other thing that is holding me back from IVF right now is thinking that going through with IVF is like trying to play God. I would love some feedback from you ladies out there that have done IVF and have struggled with this, or have not done it because of this thought. I just keep thinking, what if God doesn’t want us to do IVF because he doesn’t want us to rush it? What if we are going to get pregnant naturally without any help from medicine or technology? I sometimes say, “God, if I only knew when You were going to give us a baby, it would be so much easier to live with infertility! Even if You told us it was going to be in five years, I would be ok with the wait because I would know it IS going to happen!” Again, I don’t have the right to know what God is thinking. But if that is His plan, I worry that us doing IVF is trying to take His plan into our own hands and force it or hurry it along. But at the same time, I believe that God has given us medicine and technology to enhance our lives and help with situations like this, so maybe IVF is part of His will. I’m probably overanalyzing this, just like I do with every other aspect of my life. But these are the thoughts I struggle with.

So for now, we are waiting. We are going to stay the course with our more natural plan of chiropractic care, acupuncture, and the YLO colon cleanse. We are praying for this to be successful, but that if we are supposed to do IVF, that God will make it abundantly clear.

5 thoughts on “My Love/Hate Relationship With My OBGYN

  1. Really sorry to read this and what you are going through. Don’t lose heart at the unexplained diagnosis, easy to say but it isn’t necessarily as bad as you might think (I have same diagnosis so I’m not trying to be glib). There are some really good podcasts called beat infertility which you might want to listen to. In particular there is one where an OBGYN talks about unexplained infertility. I hope you will find it helpful and reassuring. Best wishes to you.
    http://beatinfertility.co/unexplained-infertility-explained/

    Like

  2. I’m glad your OB was willing to take the time to explain things to you. I’m sorry that you fall into the unexplained category.
    Wishing you the best with your next steps. I really hope that your natural plan works and you wont need to go through IVF.

    Like

  3. I think I have felt everything you have at some point in my journey. When we first started with our RE, we were both adamant that we would not do IVF due to too much science. We were also falling into unexplained, but for me, I wouldn’t settle for that. I was able to work with my OBGYN to schedule a laparoscopy to either diagnose or rule out scar tissue from previous surgeries I’ve had. Lone behold, I had extensive scar tissue and finally a diagnosis. We weren’t able to get it all cleared and were told that IVF was a great option for us. So, we decided to bite the bullet and do IVF this past spro. We don’t have IVF coverage, so we paid all out of pocket. I will say that going through ivf now, there is still only so much science can do. So much is still left up to God. The Dr’s are there to really just help get the egg and sperm together. The rest is truly up to nature and God. Some embryos arrest on their own, some make it to day 5 but have chromosomal issues, and some are perfect. There is still so Mich of a miracle taking place. We are also on the unsuccessful side if IVF right now, which we never thought we would be. We have had 2 failed transfers of 4 very high quality embabies and only have 2 left to tranfer. We have been faced with the “what ifs?” Of this whole thing not working, but I can honestly say that neither of us regret trying. At least we know we gave it our all. We aren’t sure either what the next steps would be, but we are beoming more okay with that as well. I hope some of my experience helps. I can just totally relate. đź’–đź’– (PS, sorry for any errors, typing from my phone)

    Like

    • And I also get completely if IVF wont be for you guys. I want to make sure you know that I don’t mean to be pushy/judgy in my comment above. 🙂

      Like

      • Ahh. This is so tough! I am so sorry that you are dealing with this!! We also had unexplained infertility so I know exactly how you are feeling. We decided against IVF and I would really like to chat with you about our reasons for that, if you are open to it!! It’s too long for a thread but perhaps an email in the next few days?? Anyway, my intention is not to push you one way or another but I was exactly where you are and I really do feel your pain! I love you and am praying foe you and your husband!

        Like

Leave a Reply

